Jens Kuphal

Team Manager

Jens Kuphal – Years of experience in team and production management, together with an unrelenting passion for ocean sailing, allow Jens Kuphal to create the necessary framework and structures for Offshore Team Germany’s long-term success.

Robert Stanjek

Initiator, Team Captain

Starboat world champion Robert Stanjek, born in 1981, is one of Germany’s most successful sailors. He has won numerous national and international titles and landed sixth place at the 2012 Olympic Games. The young skipper first gained recognition when he won the Fastnet Race in 2013. One year later, Stanjek completed his training for the 2014/15 Volvo Ocean Race with the Dutch “Team Brunel”. Shortly thereafter, German sailing legend Jochen Schümann nominated Stanjek as helmsman of the 30-meter-long maxi yacht “Esimit Europa 2”. In 2015, Stanjek won the Fastnet Race for the second time at the helm of the Mini-Maxi “Momo”.

Learn more about Robert

Michael End

CEO & Business Affairs

Michael End has been passionate about sailing since his childhood. Today, the successful businessman lends his full support and enthusiasm to Offshore Team Germany and its ocean sailing endeavors. His primary motivation is to “bring Germany back to the starting line of offshore racing.”

Annie Lush

Sailor

Annie Lush, born in 1980, is an Olympian, round the world sailor and quadruple Match Racing World Champion. In 2014/15 she competed in the Volvo Ocean Race with Team SCA, becoming part of the first ever female team to win a leg of the race. She went on to race with Team Brunel in the 2017/18 edition, as well as racing on the World Match Racing Tour. At university Annie was part of the successful Cambridge University rowing crew who beat Oxford in 2001.

Learn more about Annie

PhilLip Kasüske

Sailor

Junior World Champion 2016, multiple German runner-up and champion in 2020: Phillip Kasüske, born 1994, is one of Germany’s greatest talents in the Olympic Finn dinghy. For a long time he hoped for the chance to take part in the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo. But when the Games were postponed by a year, Phillip Kasüske ended his Olympic ambitions. The former sports soldier is versatile in sailing, already has sailing experience and is the power machine on the grinder aboard the Imoca Open 60.

Learn more about Phillip

Benjamin Dutreux

Sailor

Raised on the Île d’Yeu in the Atlantic, a passionate sailor, a materials technician in the yacht-building industry, a committed campaigner for marine conservation: Benjamin Dutreux is a maritime enthusiast. The 31-year-old competed in his first regattas as a 13-year-old. In his student days, he switched from beach catamarans to match racing. In 2015 to 2018, he sailed in the French Solitaire du Figaro stage race. He caused a sensation in his first participation in the Vendée Globe, which he finished in ninth place in January 2021.

Learn more about Benjamin

Joff Brown

Technical Project Manager

Born in England in 1976, Joff Brown has enjoyed a long and successful career as the project manager of high-tech sailing teams. He has managed numerous IMOCA 60 campaigns since 2000, including the “Hugo Boss 6” which he built for Alex Thomson Racing. Joff is responsible for the performance and reliability of the yachts and boasts to date a 100% finisher rate. Moreover, he is a member of the IMOCA Technical Committee.

Ian Smyth

Boat Captain

After sailing in his youth and a brief Olympic campaign, Ian Smyth, born in England in 1984, quickly set foot in the big boat and offshore sailing scene. For Ian, sailing is more than a passion – it’s his calling. He has distinguished himself with numerous athletic successes and was part of Team New Zealand’s shore crew during the 2004/05 America’s Cup. Since then, Ian has been in charge of various refit, new build and regatta projects, in addition to being boat captain of the IMOCA 60 “Hugo Boss 6”.

Felix Diemer

Onboard Reporter

Robert Sleep

Shore Crew

Patrick Hutchings

Shore Crew

OTG_LES_SABLES, sailing, les sables, france, action, iomoca, 60, racing

Gaston Poppa

Team Chef

Morten Bogacki

Sailor

Born in 1986, Morten Bogacki began sailing at an early age: starting with the Optimist, the International 420, and then the Olympic 470, he has various championship titles and a successful run with the national team under his belt. In 2016, he obtained his medical license, but even during his studies, he had sailed countless miles in the Atlantic and Baltic Sea in the wake of his family’s own mini series. With two wins at the legendary Silverrudder Challenge, this all-around talent demonstrated a smooth transition into shorthanded offshore sailing.

Ralf Abratis

SpokesPerson

Born in 1967, Ralf Abratis started sailing on the lakes of Schleswig-Holstein. After intensively competing in regattas during his youth, his career compelled him to take a break from dinghy sailing for a couple of years. In the mid-90s, however, he celebrated his comeback. Today, the hobby sailor and freelance journalist turned newspaper and magazine editor is able to combine his passion and profession. He has been actively working in public relations for various sailing events for the past several years.
Scroll to Top

Jens Kuphal

Manager

Jens Kuphal

Team Manager

Jens Kuphal – Mit seiner langjährigen Erfahrung im Team- und Produktions-Management, in Kombination mit der bedingungslosen Leidenschaft für das Hochseesegeln schafft Jens Kuphal den notwendigen Rahmen und die dazugehörigen Strukturen für den nachhaltigen Erfolg des Offshore Team Germany.

Robert Stanjek

Initiator, Team Captain

Robert Stanjek

Initiator, Team Captain

Starbootweltmeister Robert Stanjek, geboren 1981, ist mit zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Titeln und Platz sechs bei den Olympischen Spielen 2012 einer der erfolgreichsten deutschen Segler. Mit einem Sieg beim Fastnet Race 2013 konnte er Offshore als junger Skipper einen ersten Achtungserfolg verbuchen. 2014 absolviert Stanjek im holländischen „Team Brunel“ die Ausbildung für das Volvo Ocean Race 2014/15. Deutschlands Segellegende Jochen Schümann nominiert Stanjek daraufhin als Steuermann für die 30 Meter lange Maxiyacht „Esimit Europa 2“. 2015 gelingt Stanjek ein zweiter Fastnet Sieg am Steuer der Minimaxi „Momo“.

Michael End

CEO & Business Affairs

Michael End

CEO & Business Affairs

Die Leidenschaft fürs Segeln prägte schon seine Jugendjahre. Heute unterstützt der erfolgreiche Unternehmer Michael End das Offshore Team Germany mit voller Begeisterung zum Hochseesegeln. Sein zentraler Antrieb ist dabei, „Deutschland im Offshore-Racing wieder an die Startlinie zu bringen“.

Annie Lush

Sailor

Annie Lush

Segler

Annie Lush, geboren 1980, ist Olympia-Teilnehmerin, Weltumseglerin und viermalige Match Racing-Weltmeisterin. 2014/15 nahm sie mit dem Team SCA am Volvo Ocean Race teil und wurde Teil des ersten rein-weiblichen Teams, das eine Etappe des Rennens gewann. In der Ausgabe 2017/18 segelte sie das Weltrennen mit dem Team Brunel und weiterhin auf der World Match Racing Tour. Zu Uni-Zeiten war Annie Teil der erfolgreichen Cambridge-Rudermannschaft, die 2001 Oxford besiegte.

Morten Bogacki

Segler

Morten Bogacki

Segler

Morten Bogacki, 1986 geboren, beginnt früh mit dem Segelsport: Optimist, 420er, dann der olympische 470er mit diversen Meistertiteln und einer erfolgreichen Zeit in der Nationalmannschaft. 2016 erlangt er seine Approbation als Arzt. Schon während des Studiums packt er unzählige Ostsee- und Atlantik-Meilen in das Kielwasser des familieneigenen Serien-Minis. Mit zwei Siegen beim legendären Silverrudder beweist er den gelungenen Disziplinwechsel ins Shorthanded Offshore-Segeln. Ein sturmfestes Allround-Talent.

Phillip Kasüske

Segler

PhilLip Kasüske

Segler

Juniorenweltmeister 2016, mehrmaliger Deutscher Vizemeister: Phillip Kasüske, Jahrgang 1994, ist eines der größten deutschen Talente im olympischen Finn-Dinghy und hofft noch auf die Chance, 2020 an den Olympischen Spielen in Tokio teilnehmen zu können. Doch der Sportsoldat ist im Segelsport vielseitig, hat bereits Seesegel-Erfahrung und ist an Bord des Imoca Open 60 die Kraftmaschine am Grinder.

Joff Brown

Technical Project Manager

Joff Brown

Technical Project Manager

Joff Brown, 1976 in England geboren, blickt auf eine enorme Erfahrung als Projekt Manager von Hightech-Segelteams. Seit 2000 verantwortet er zahlreiche IMOCA 60 Kampagnen und baute u.a. die „Hugo Boss 6“ für Alex Thomson Racing. Joff sorgt für Leistung und Zuverlässigkeit der Schiffe und blickt bis dato auf eine 100%ige Finisher-Rate bei absolvierten Rennen. Zudem ist er Mitglied im IMOCA Technical Committee.

Ian Smith

Boat Captain

Ian Smith

Boat Captain

Ian Smith, 1984 in England geboren, führt das Jugendsegeln und eine kurze Olympiakampagne schnell in die Big Boat- und Offshore-Szene. Mit zahlreichen sportlichen Erfolgen macht er seine Leidenschaft zur Berufung und beginnt 2004/05 als Shore-Crew beim Team New Zealand im America’s Cup. Seither verantwortet er zahlreiche Refit-, Neubau- oder Regattaprojekte, unter anderem als Boat Captain für die IMOCA 60 „Hugo Boss 6“.

Ralf Abratis

Pressesprecher

Ralf Abratis

Pressesprecher

1967 in der schleswig-holsteinischen Provinz geboren, lernt Ralf Abratis den Segelsport auf den Seen der Holsteinischen Schweiz kennen. Nach intensiver Regatta-Aktivität in den Jugendjollen kehrt er berufsbedingt dem Segeln einige Jahre den Rücken, schafft aber vor 25 Jahren den Umkehrschwung. Als Hobby-Segler und freier Journalist, später als Tageszeitungs- und Zeitschriftenredakteur vebindet er Segeln und Beruf und ist seit einigen Jahren in der Pressearbeit für verschiedene Segelevents aktiv.