Vision

VIsion

There hasn’t been much buzz about Germany in the world of professional ocean sailing for quite a while now. It’s been 18 years since the “Illbruck” brought home Germany’s last victory with its legendary win at the Volvo Ocean Race, and twelve years since United Internet Team Germany tried its luck at the America’s Cup in Valencia. Ever since, German sailing hasn’t made the headlines. Offshore Team Germany (OTG) wants to change that. Skipper Robert Stanjek and his team have a clear goal in mind – sending their “Einstein” around the world during the 2021/22 “Ocean Race”. It would be the first time in the 20 years following the Illbruck’s win for a team to compete in the race under the German flag.

The next chapter

In mid-September 2019, Offshore Team Germany began taking off. The contenders in the next edition of “The Ocean Race” (TOR) met in Alicante/Spain to exchange ideas and Offshore Team Germany had been invited to take a seat at the table. The team had made it into the Volvo Ocean Race community, directly at the center of the IMOCA Open 60 world. Team Manager Jens Kuphal, CEO Michael End and skipper Robert Stanjek distributed the team’s business card to the other teams registered to participate in the upcoming race around the world. The German delegation was able to establish important contacts and gather valuable information. It was the first step toward fulfilling a dream – not just for themselves, but for the many sailing enthusiasts in Germany.
Felix Diemer

SAILING HISTORY – “MADE IN GERMANY”

Four German yachts have competed in the race around the world since the ocean marathon’s first edition 1973/74. The “Peter von Danzig”, the “Walross III” and the “Schlüssel von Bremen” all sailed in the Whitbread Round the World Race in 1973/74, 1981/82 and 1989/90, respectively. 2001/02 marked Germany’s high point in the history of the race, as the “Illbruck” brought home the victory at the time when the race was entering a new era as the Volvo Ocean Race.

Four German yachts have competed in the race around the world since the ocean marathon’s first edition 1973/74. The “Peter von Danzig”, the “Walross III” and the “Schlüssel von Bremen” all sailed in the Whitbread Round the World Race in 1973/74, 1981/82 and 1989/90, respectively. 2001/02 marked Germany’s high point in the history of the race, as the “Illbruck” brought home the victory at the time when the race was entering a new era as the Volvo Ocean Race.
2021 will mark yet another new beginning for the Ocean Race: it will have a new name, new ideas, new stopover cities and modified structures – and, for the first time in a long time, a contending German team. The upcoming 14th edition of the race will be sailed on ships of the IMOCA Open 60 class. The VO65, which was the designated yacht for the previous two editions, will be for the junior class race this time around. The decision to make this change came in the fall of 2018 and, with it, Offshore Team Germany suddenly found itself in the midst of the events. The decision for the IMOCAs played right into the new campaign’s hands.
Two years ago, Team Manager Jens Kuphal, CEO Michael End and Team Captain Robert Stanjek managed to lay the foundation for yet another #madeingermany campaign. Purchasing the former “Acciona”, an IMOCA 60, got their foot in the door of the international ocean sailing scene. The subsequent designation of the IMOCAs as the new official TOR class took them through the door and center stage.

The next step was to popularize the project on a much larger scale and, to this end, the German Sailing Federation (German: Deutscher Segler-Verband, DSV) presented itself as the ideal partner. The DSV will offer its support by promoting the team through its various channels. As well, the DSV and OTG will combine their know-how to secure long-term perspectives for top German sailors in the. “Working together with Offshore Team Germany holds a special significance for the German Sailing Federation in several ways. Firstly, the high emotions that would accompany the team’s participation in the Ocean Race are particularly well suited for getting sailing more media attention. Secondly, it’s stirring up an enthusiasm among our athletes that extends beyond the younger fans of the sport and is far greater than the excitement surrounding an Olympic campaign,” says DSV President Mona Küppers. She continues, “It’s a win-win situation for both parties involved. OTG can draw on a pool of highly trained sailors and, with our eyes set on the 2024 Olympics, we can together work on creating a successful offshore presence.”

This aligns perfectly with OTG’s goal. Beyond getting an international team of professionals to sail in the race under the German flag, OTG aims to get future generations of German offshore sailors involved. In addition to skipper Robert Stanjek, the team is composed of Finn dinghy champion Phillip Kasüske and Morten Bogacki, who vying to steer OTG’s mini “Lilienthal” across the Atlantic at the 2019 Mini Transat in 2019. The team has brought yet another Olympic hopeful into the mix with 49er sailor Fabian Graf, who took third place at the 2019 World Cup.
OTG’s campaign is meant to inspire not just the ocean sailing community, but an even broader base of fans. During a brief visit to the Störtebeker Opti Cup in Helgoland, the team captivated a group of 120 Opti sailors and their companions with its “Einstein”. Docked in the port right next to the racing fleet, the “Einstein” offered photographers the perfect photo op and invited the youngest sailors and their chaperones on board for an Open Ship. “We can really get on!? I’ve seen the boat on Instagram, but this is awesome,” the young Opti enthusiasts squealed, excited at the prospect of checking out the yacht up close.

One day before the start of Kiel Week, the IMOCA Open 60 was publicly unveiled right in the heart of Kiel.Sailing.City. The audience of invitees stood on the Reventlou Bridge and cheered on the snow-white racing yacht by doing the wave. Annie Lush, the sailor who twice circumnavigated the globe, then christened the ship with the name “Einstein” and a champagne shower.
Emotions were running high shortly before the ceremony: Michael Illbruck, who had led Germany to victory in the 2001/02 Ocean Race, sent the OTG team strong words via video message. “This is amazing. What an uproar, what an adventure!” Michael Illbruck exclaimed and then passed on well-wishes from John Kostecki, the helmsman during the 2002 win. “He’s ecstatic! So, from one team to another: Good luck! We have the fondest memories of Kiel. It was like landing on the moon for us! Even today, sailing under Kiel’s lighthouse was our most memorable experience. We’ll never forget it! Robert, I hope you and your crew can share the same experience.”

The Welcome Race during Kiel Week was the first true test for the boat and its team. The next test took place just six weeks later at the Rolex Fastnet Race. Not only did the IMOCA Open 60 make a strong comeback on the regatta course, but OTG showed it was capable of taking on the open sea. Skipper Robert Stanjek, navigator Conrad Colman and crew members Annie Lush, Ian Smyth and Phillip Kasüske sailed the “Einstein” as the 16th of 390 yachts and the 9th IMOCA across the finish line. The premiere of the completely refit yacht proved a great success in terms of both its ranking at the finish line and, more importantly, the useful insights it gave the team: The “Einstein” had proven to be extremely powerful despite its old set of sails and lack of foils. This was proof that it’s entirely possible to sail a powerful IMOCA Open 60 with a crew of only five members.
“The test was a complete success. I’m more than happy with the performance of the boat and the entire team,” said Team Manager Jens Kuphal, who had accompanied the crew during the race’s 605 nautical miles as onboard reporter. “Sailing around the Fastnet Rock in the middle of the night was an amazing experience. And not just for the sailors, but for the boat itself, too. It was its first time back on a regatta course in more than six years.”

For skipper Robert Stanjek, it was the first real challenge on the “Einstein” since its trial runs: “We wanted to get a feel for the new Ocean Race setup with a five-person crew. It was an extremely intense experience because five people is really not a big team. No one has it easy. You have to manage your energy well. We did a good job and the boat proved that it has potential. I’m completely satisfied – with the crew and with the hardware.”

While the Fastnet Race certainly marked a milestone for the OTG campaign, the team still has a long way to go before the next Ocean Race. Even the race itself still has a lot of planning ahead of it. This became apparent last September when the contending teams met in Alicante. Although the exact course has yet to be finalized, it is already certain that the contours will be sharper than before. It’s also clear that Europe will be receiving a considerable amount of attention from the international sailing community. The race will begin in Alicante yet again and have stopovers in Aarhus/Denmark and The Hague/Netherlands, before ending in Genoa/Italy. In addition to these European cities, Cabo Verde has also been selected as a TOR port. The remaining stopover locations should be announced by the end of the year. On one hand, the selection of international stopover cities explains the spectacle’s worldwide popularity. On the other hand, it plays an important role in the further development of the yacht. The “Einstein” isn’t entirely finished yet. Plans for the foils will first be drafted after the final route has been revealed in the coming months, because the amount of downwind and upwind courses will help determine the appropriate design.

The OTG campaign still has a lot to do before the Ocean Race begins in 2021, but this doesn’t discourage the team in the least. After all, the yacht wasn’t just named after Albert Einstein. The great physicist is also the inspiration for the entire project. And as the passionate sailor once said, “If at first the idea is not absurd, then there’s no hope for it.”

VOLVO OCEAN RACE 2001-2002

VISION

Die Vision

Es war lange still um Deutschland im professionellen Hochsee-Segelsport: 18 Jahre ist es her, dass die „Illbruck“ mit dem legendären Sieg beim Volvo Ocean Race für den letzten deutschen Triumph sorgte. Vor zwölf Jahren versuchte sich das United Internet Team Germany vor Valencia im America’s Cup. Seitdem fehlten die großen Schlagzeilen um schwarz-rot-goldene Segelerfolge. Zeit, dass sich was dreht. Das Offshore Team Germany (OTG) hat nun wieder ein klares Ziel vor Augen. 2021/2022 will die Mannschaft um Skipper Robert Stanjek zum „The Ocean Race“ ihre „Einstein“ ins Weltrennen schicken. Es wäre genau 20 Jahre nach dem „Illbruck“-Erfolg, dass sich wieder ein Team unter deutscher Flagge an dem Klassiker beteiligt.

Das nächste Kapitel

Mitte September 2019 fühlte es sich schon ein wenig an, wie angekommen zu sein. Angekommen in der Familie der Volvo Ocean Race-Weltumsegler, mittendrin in der Klasse der IMOCA Open 60. Die Anwärter für das kommende „The Ocean Race“ (TOR) trafen sich in Alicante/Spanien. Die TOR-Organisatoren hatten eingeladen zum Gedankenaustausch, und das junge Offshore Team Germany war dabei. Team-Manager Jens Kuphal, CEO Michael End und Skipper Robert Stanjek gaben die Visiten-Karte des OTG im Kreis der Teams ab, die sich für eine Teilnahme vorangemeldet haben. Die deutsche Delegation knüpfte wichtige Kontakte, sammelte entscheidende Information, um nicht nur sich selbst, sondern für viele Segelbegeisterte in Deutschland einen Traum zu erfüllen.

Felix Diemer

SEGEL-Geschichte - "Made in Germany"

Seit der ersten Auflage des Weltrennens 1973/74 waren vier deutsche Yachten bei dem Meeresmarathon dabei. Der „Peter von Danzig“ 1973/74, die „Walross III“ 1981/82 und die „Schlüssel von Bremen“ 1989/90 segelten beim Whitbread Round the World; „Illbruck“ setzte mit dem Triumph 2001/02 den deutschen Glanzpunkt, als das Rennen als Volvo Ocean Race in eine neue Ära geführt wurde.

2021 soll es einen weiteren Neustart für das Ocean Race geben: neuer Name, neue Ideen, neue Etappenorte und veränderte Strukturen – und endlich wieder eine deutsche Mannschaft. Zur 14. Auflage des Ocean Race sollen die VO65 der vergangenen beiden Auflagen nun als Nachwuchsklasse an den Start gehen. Und neu dabei im Hauptrennen: die Klasse der IMOCA Open 60. Die Entscheidung darüber fiel im Herbst 2018 – und plötzlich war das Offshore Team Germany mittendrin im Geschehen. Denn die Entscheidung für die IMOCAs spielte der jungen Kampagne in die Hände.

Vor zwei Jahren hatten Team-Manager Jens Kuphal, CEO Michael End und Team-Kapitän Robert Stanjek die Basis geschaffen, um wieder eine Kampagne #madeingermany auf den Weg zu bringen. Mit dem Kauf der Ex-„Acciona“, eines IMOCA Open 60, im Frühjahr 2017 gelang es, einen Fuß in die Tür der internationalen Hochsee-Segelszene zu bekommen. Mit der Entscheidung, die Class IMOCA künftig als offizielle TOR-Klasse segeln zu lassen, wurde diese Tür zur großen Bühne weit aufgestoßen.

Zunächst galt es, das Projekt einer breiten Basis bekannt zu machen. Als ideeller Partner wurde dafür der Deutsche Segler-Verband gewonnen. Der DSV wird das Team begleiten, den Auftritt des OTG über seine Kanäle fördern und mit der gemeinsamen Bündelung des Know-hows daran arbeiten, dass sich für deutsche Spitzensegler langfristige Perspektiven im Segelsport ergeben. „Die Kooperation mit dem Offshore Team Germany ist für den Deutschen Segler-Verband aus verschiedenen Sichtweisen von besonderer Bedeutung. Zum einen ist die Emotionalisierung, die mit einer Teilnahme am Ocean Race einhergehen würde, hervorragend geeignet, um dem Segelsport mehr mediale Aufmerksamkeit zu bescheren. Zum anderen lässt sich bei unseren Athleten eine Begeisterung schüren, die weit über den Jugendbereich oder eine olympische Kampagne hinausreicht“, sagt DSV-Präsidentin Mona Küppers und führt weiter aus: „Es ist eine Win-Win-Situation für beide Seiten. Denn das OTG kann auf gut ausgebildete Kadersegler zurückgreifen, und mit Sicht auf Olympia 2024 können wir gemeinsam an einem erfolgreichen Offshore-Auftritt arbeiten.“

Genau das passt auch in das Konzept des OTG. Denn es geht nicht nur darum, ein internationales Profi-Team unter deutscher Flagge an den Start zu bringen, sondern auch deutschen Seesegel-Nachwuchs einzubinden. Neben Skipper Robert Stanjek gehören daher Finn-Ass Phillip Kasüske und Morten Bogacki, der den OTG-Mini „Lilienthal“ beim Mini Transat 2019 über den Atlantik führen will, zum Team. Mit 49er-Segler Fabian Graf, WM-Dritter 2018, wurde ein weiterer Olympia-Aspirant in den Fokus genommen.

Aber neben der Hochsee-Gemeinde soll ein noch größerer Kreis an Begeisterten auf dem Weg mitgenommen werden. Mit einer Stippvisite der Yacht Helgoland zum Störtebeker Opti Cup zog das OTG 120 Opti-Segler und deren Begleiter in seinen Bann. Die „Einstein“ tauchte nicht nur nah am Regattafeld auf und sorgte somit für tolle Bilder für die Fotografen, sondern stand im Hafen auch zu einem Open Ship für die Jüngstensegler und deren Begleiter bereit. „Wir können rauf, echt? Ich kenne das Boot von Instagram, aber das hier ist ja toll!“, so freuten sich die Opti-Kids über die Chance, einen tiefen Einblick in die Yacht zu bekommen.

Einen Tag vor dem Start in die Kieler Woche wurde der IMOCA Open 60 zudem im Herzen von Kiel.Sailing.City öffentlich vorgestellt. Die geladenen Gäste und das Publikum an der Reventloubrücke feierten den schneeweißen Renner, mit einer doppelten La Ola, als er von der zweimaligen Weltumseglerin Annie Lush mit einer Sektdusche auf den Namen „Einstein“ getauft wurde.

Vor der Taufe war es emotional geworden: Michael Illbruck, der 2001/02 die siegreiche deutsche Ocean-Race-Kampagne verantwortet hatte, schickte per Videobotschaft starke Worte an die OTG-Mannschaft. „Das ist der Hammer. Was für eine Aufregung, was für ein Abenteuer? Gott sei Dank, macht das mal einer!“, sagte Michael Illbruck. Er bestellte auch Grüße von John Kostecki, dem Erfolgssteuermann von 2002. „Er hat sich total gefreut. Also auch von Seiten der Mannschaft: Viel Glück! Wir haben nur die allerbesten Erinnerungen an Kiel. Es war unsere Mondlandung! Bis heute ist es das größte Erlebnis, unter dem Kieler Leuchtturm zu segeln. Unvergessen! Robert, ich hoffe, das passiert Dir und Deinen Leuten auch.“

Die Teilnahme am Welcom Race der Kieler Woche war ein erster Test für Team und Boot, nur sechs Woche später bewies das OTG, dass es tatsächlich Hochsee kann. Der IMOCA Open 60 legte ein starkes Comeback auf der Regattabahn hin. Beim Rolex Fastnet Race segelte die Crew der „Einstein“ um Skipper Robert Stanjek und Navigator Conrad Colman sowie die Crewmitglieder Annie Lush, Ian Smyth und Phillip Kasüske als 16. von 390 Yachten und dabei als neunter Imoca über die Ziellinie. Noch wichtiger als der respektable Erfolg auf dem Regattakurs waren allerdings die Erkenntnisse, die aus der Hochsee-Premiere nach dem Komplett-Refit der Yacht gezogen werden konnten: Selbst mit alter Segelgarderobe und noch ohne Foils erwies sich „Einstein“ als äußerst leistungsfähig und bewies damit, dass ein IMOCA Open 60 mit ordentlich Power in einer Crewstärke von fünf Personen gesegelt werden kann.

„Es war ein sehr erfolgreicher Test. Ich bin wirklich zufrieden – über die Performance des Bootes und des gesamten Teams“, so Team-Manager Jens Kuphal, der als Onboard-Reporter dabei war, nach dem heißen 605 Seemeilen langen Ritt bei dem Hochsee-Klassiker. „Es war ein fantastischer Moment, mitten in der Nacht um den Rock zu fahren. Ein großer Augenblick für jeden Segler – in diesem Fall aber auch für das Boot. Denn nach über sechs Jahren ist es nun endlich wieder auf die Regattabahn zurückgekehrt.“

Für Skipper Robert Stanjek war es nach den Testfahrten die erste echte Herausforderung mit „Einstein“: „Wir wollten ein Gefühl für das neue Ocean-Race-Setup mit einer Fünf-Personen-Crew bekommen. Es ist sehr intensiv, denn fünf Mann sind kein großes Team. Jeder hat zu kämpfen. Man muss ein sehr gutes Energie-Management haben. Wir haben es gut gemacht, das Boot hat gezeigt, dass es Potenzial hat. Ich bin wirklich sehr zufrieden – mit der Crew und mit der Hardware.“

Am Fastnet Rock wurde der erste echte Meilenstein für die Kampagne des OTG gesetzt. Aber es sind noch viele Schritte zu gehen. Mit dem Treffen der internationalen Ocean-Race-Teams im September in Alicante zeigte sich, dass auch das Rennen noch ein gutes Wegstück zu erledigen hat. Immerhin werden die Konturen der 14. Auflage nun schärfer. Europa ist mit großen Städten des aktuellen Weltsegelsports am Start. Vor Alicante wird erneut der Startschuss gegeben. Aarhus/Dänemark und Den Haag/Niederlande werden Etappenorte sein. Genua/Italien soll den Schlusspunkt bilden. Daneben stehen auch die Kapverden bereits als TOR-Hafen fest. Welche Metropolen darüber hinaus noch dazukommen, dazu soll bis Jahresende Klarheit herrschen. Die Auswahl der Etappenorte klärt nicht die weltumspannende Attraktivität des Spektakels, sondern gibt auch Klarheit darüber, wie die Yacht weiterentwickelt werden soll. Denn noch ist „Einstein“ nicht fertig. Die Foils werden erst in den kommenden Monaten nach Bekanntgabe der finalen Route entwickelt und die Anteile der Amwind- und Downwind-Strecken zum Weltrennen werden dabei über das Design entscheiden.

Es bleibt spannend für die OTG-Kampagne bis zum Start des Ocean Race in 2021. Doch der große Physiker Albert Einstein ist nicht nur der Namensgeber der Yacht, er ist auch die Inspiration für das Vorhaben. Denn der leidenschaftliche Segler sagte einmal: „Wenn eine Idee am Anfang nicht absurd klingt, dann gibt es keine Hoffnung für sie.“

VOLVO OCEAN RACE 2001-2002